Assessment of Student Learning

Assessment of Student Learning

Assessment of student learning is a critical component of Georgian Court University’s academic and student support programs. Each program aligns its goals and outcomes with Georgian Court University’s Mission and Institutional Student Learning Goals. Faculty and student support staff determine the best way to evidence outcomes and enter into actions of continuous improvement based on these results. While many programs have external accreditation and follow these standards, all programs follow the accreditation standards of Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Georgian Court University has a defined plan to assess student learning at the course, program, and institutional level. Courses are assessed through faculty self-reflection using an end-of-course survey as well as through student evaluation using the ETS Student Instructional Report II (SIR II). Curricular and cocurricular programs follow a three-year assessment plan based on goals and outcomes, with annual reporting. The Office of Assessment coordinates the assessment of the institution’s Institutional Student Learning Goals using data from both curricular and cocurricular programs.

GCU Academic Program Review and Assessment Committee (PRAC) 2019-2020

(This committee meets on the call of the chair or provost on a frequent basis.)
Chair (appointed by provost from full-time faculty for two-year term)Marny Requa, J.D. (1 year)
One faculty member appointed by the Executive Officers of the Faculty Assembly (EOFA) from each school:
School of Arts and SciencesAndrew Weber (2 years)
School of Business and Digital MediaAmitabh Mungale (2 years)
School of EducationNancy Burns-Sardone (1 year)
Two additional faculty members, at large:Maureen Bailey, Ph.D. (1 year)

Bonnie Ross (2 years)
Director of Assessment (ex officio)Janet Thiel, OSF, Ph.D.
Representative from Office of the Provost (ex officio)Michael Gross, Ph.D.

Contact Us

Share This Page

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest